MAPPING SAM

In stores now!

PUBLISHED BY GREENWILLOW

MappingSamCover1000.jpg

An adventurous cat named Sam explores her neighborhood at night in this gorgeously illustrated book. Informational, beautiful, and deeply moving, Mapping Sam is both a book about how maps work and an engaging, character-driven story.

For fans of Brandon Wenzel’s They All Saw a Cat and Sara Fanelli’s My Map Book, and for anyone who wants to know what is where and how to get from here to there!

Maps can show us streets and subways and cities and countries. But they can also show us what we can’t see, what we can only imagine, or how to build something. In Joyce Hesselberth’s Mapping Sam, Sam the cat puts her family to bed, and then—when all is quiet—heads out to explore her neighborhood.

As Sam follows her customary path, wandering farther and farther away from home, readers encounter different kinds of maps illuminating different points of view and the various spots Sam visits. Finally, when Sam reaches her favorite place and confirms that all is well, she heads back home, climbs onto a cozy bed, and falls asleep.

An ideal read-aloud for classrooms and libraries, Mapping Sam features a page of background information, as well as various maps and map terms throughout. Perfect for fans of Lynne Rae Perkins’s Frank and Lucky Get Schooled and Peter H. Reynolds’s The Dot.


SHAPE SHIFT

Round, curvy, pointy, or straight-shapes are all around us.

With vibrant illustrations that highlight shapes in all their forms, this informative book reinforces the identification of circles, squares, crescents, diamonds, triangles, rectangles, trapezoids, and ovals while encouraging kids to pair shapes together to make new forms. Written and illustrated by Joyce Hesselberth.

"Get your sketchbooks ready: “Shape Shift” is the kind of book you’ll want to read with a pen and paper nearby, since it works as a storybook and a creative tool, too. . . Sure to inspire nascent builders and budding artists, too." — The Boston Globe

"Most shape books ask readers to find shapes in the everyday world; Hesselberth does the opposite and sparks children's imaginations." — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

 

A CHILD'S BOOK OF ANIMAL POEMS AND BLESSING

These poems, prayers and blessings about animals are drawn from around the world and throughout history. Speaks to a child's sense of connection with the animal kingdom. By turns amusing and reverential, Blanchard weaves together a collection that inspires gratitude and joy for a world rich in diversity and wonder. Sources include the Bible, African and Native American cultures, Lewis Carroll, William Wordsworth and Christina Rosetti. Illustrations by Joyce Hesselberth.